Do Not Despair

You may think that you are a nobody, maybe even a has-been or a loser in the eyes of the world. You may feel life has no purpose when faced with bullying and the hardships of this world. Take heart because God’s Word says that if you are not wise, not mighty or not noble according to the flesh, then you are a prime candidate for Him to call on! And when He begins to use you, you will see His favor, power and increasing change in your life.

In the eyes of the ancient world, Moses was the rising star of Egypt. The Bible tells us that in the first 40 years of his life, “Moses was learned in all the wisdom of the Egyptians, and was mighty in words and deeds”. (Acts 7:22) But God could not use him then because he was too smart, strong and full of pride.

It was only 40 years later, after having been in the unglamorous desert of Midian, emptied of himself and thinking that he was a has-been, that God sent him to confound the might of Pharaoh.

The world may pass them by — the weak, the small, the forgotten and the losers, but God chooses them to confound those mighty in the world.

I know this to be true. As a boy, I was bullied at home by those who thought themselves better than me. In my frustration, I tried confronting them with no achievement.  And as a teenager going through junior high and middle school, I was the butt of many jokes because of my size and quirkiness.

When I was in my teens, I remember praying to God, “Lord, I forgive those who have trespassed against me and i pray they will forgive my trespasses.” To this day I say this prayer and I know God heard. He moved me from that town and school. Placing me in a better system, making many friends and putting me on the path to college. I knew He heard me because He gave me the tools and talent to stand strong in faith and write this content.

I know what I was and where I came from. I know I have done nothing and can do nothing apart from His anointing and grace in my life.

To those who go through the torment of bullying I say, do not despair. Your Father is with you and this time will pass. My friend, when you think that you are weak and small compared to others in the world, that is when God can use you to do great and wonderful things for Him!

Have a thought? I look forward to the discussions.

