Trust in Your Heart

Some of us have been told that the heart cannot be trusted, that it can be hurt and that is where desire reigns. We quote verses like “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked…” (Jeremiah 17:9), we must be careful not to let our hearts rule our thoughts. However, there is something interesting about this verse and others like it. They are given in the context and at a time when individuals had not received Jesus as his Lord and Savior.

Recently, I’ve been having an internal struggle when it comes to my heart and what I want to do with this life God has given me. Some of my friends are going through life changing events from job hunting to marriage. These struggles remind me of a story. One day, as a congregation was finishing service a man walked up to his pastor and said, “Pastor, I don’t know what I should do with my life.”

“What is on your heart?” Asked the pastor.

“I would love to work among children.”

“Then work among children!”

“But I am waiting on the Lord to tell me to do that.”

“Well, He has given you the desire, so go and work among children!”

“But the desire comes from my heart. How do I know if it is of God?”

“My friend, once you are saved, you have a brand new heart, and you can trust the promptings of your heart because God dwells in you and He leads you from within. And don’t worry because His promptings will never contradict His Word. It will lead you to good success.”

Often, you find that when you follow your inner promptings, it is actually God who has put those desires in your mind and written them on your heart. I remember years ago my desire to pursue God and work in ministry. At the time, life events forced me to look the otherway. Recently though, my mother told me, “Ryan. You are really into religion and care greatly, why don’t you become a minister?” God had already been working in me from the start in my heart and once again through my mother. Though it may be unconventional, I listened and walked the path He put before me. It turned out to be a confirmation of what He already knew on the inside.

If you enjoy something and desire to do it, then do so. God Himself says that He will guide us from within. Let’s not doubt Him and He will keep us from our unhealthy desires. And don’t worry about the outcome. God’s part is to work in you both the willingness and the performance of it. Many doors may close before He opens the door you are meant to walk through. (Philippians 2:13)

God has given you a new heart, He will write His desires on it. And as you fulfill these desires, you will bring forth fruit, and not wither and die. Whatever you do will prosper!

Have a thought? I look forward to the discussions.

