Hearing His Voice

Today, I took a step in learning to silence my mind. I do so to lessen stresses firm grip on my shoulders and feel the presence of God within me.

Sitting in that relaxed state, I found myself asking God what He wanted me to do. A stirring came forth to pick up the Bible, which I did. Looking upon the book I asked God,  “What would you like me to read, Lord?” A voice inside told me, “Timothy.”

Curious about this first time event for me I asked, “Which book would you have me read?” Patiently I waited for a reply prompting me to ask the question again. After the third try, “2 Timothy 1.”

Reading, I found myself focused on verses 5-7,

I remember your genuine faith, for you share the faith that first filled your grandmother Lois and your mother, Eunice. And I know that same faith continues strong in you. This is why I remind you to fan into flames the spiritual gift God gave you when I laid my hands on you. For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.

The passage, I feel, speaks to spiritual discipline. God has given us a spirit of strength allowing us to love, forgive, and overcome. I think it is a two way street. I believe it applies to how we act with each other but also with God. We are to be strong in God and in our love for Him. We are to be self-disciplined in that love and the conduct of our lives.

image

Have a thought? I look forward to the discussions.

