The Gifts of God

God wants you to sense his presence, but he’s more concerned that you trust Him than that you feel Him. Faith, not feelings, pleases God.

The situations that will stretch your faith most will be those times when life falls apart and God is nowhere to be found. This happened to Job. On a single day he lost everything — his family, his business, his health, and everything he owned. Most discouraging for Job was the absence of God. For much of the book, God said nothing!

How do you praise God when you don’t understand what’s happening in your life and God is silent? How do you stay connected in a crisis without communication? How do you keep your eyes on Jesus when they’re full of tears? You do what Job did: He fell to the ground in worship and said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised” (Job 1:21). Job even scolds his wife, questioning her belief and foundations by reminding her that God is not just responsible for the good in this world.

Tell God exactly how you feel. Pour out your heart to God. Unload every emotion that you’re feeling. Job did this when he said, “I can’t be quiet! I am angry and bitter. I have to speak” (Job 7:11). He is listening.  There are times when I don’t know what to pray. I wait patiently for something to say and allow God to form the words I need to say. I have listened to many individuals and preachers pray aimlessly as if the more they say means the more God is listening. I would tend to think God is more interested in quality than quantity.

He cried out when God seemed distant: “Oh, for the days when I was in my prime, when God’s intimate friendship blessed my house” (Job 29:4). God has brought you this far, so why would you questions Him now. If you find yourself distant or lacking in communication with God, pray. Let Him form your words and if none come than simply thank Him for all that you have. Don’t focus on the gifts God is not giving you. Instead focus on the gifts God has given you.

image

Leave a Reply

