The Rock

It is truly amazing how a day can unfold. Your morning starts off with the regular routine with a few minor alterations and then it is off to the races. It is your familiar Tuesday with familiar things tasks, meetings, interactions, and plans. Then life through you a curve ball catching you unprepared.

For the last few weeks I’ve been going through the books of Psalms and reflecting on today I come across some words of encouragement God was giving me.
In Psalm 71, we find David asking God for help. He needed assurances of His nearness and comfort as he faced his enemies. “Be my rock of refuge, “David said, “to which I can always go…Do not be far from me, my God; come quickly, God, help me.” Continuing on, “do not forsake me when my strength is gone…even when I am old and gray, do not forsake me.”

Certain situations in life require us to spend our mental, physical, and emotional energy in a way that we cannot sustain. We are not promised deliverance from every difficult situation we face, but promised comfort and grace. We can be confident that God is clearing a path before us, walking beside us, and supporting us.

David described a time when his enemies were threatening him and he felt the emotional weight of their anger. He needed to escape the distress he was experiencing.

“Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you,” David exclaims. He recognized that God supports us if we dare to release our problems to Him. God is in control of every aspect of our life.

We can find rest in God. Sometimes it’s as simple as asking Him to handle our problems or to be with us. Notice how in Psalm 71 the writer directs his prayer directly to God while other psalms merely sing and give praise to Him? We need or better yet we want to have the same mentality and approach. Sing our praises to God, but also lift our prayers upward directed at Him. Doing thos we can pause, relax, and enjoy the knowledge that He is sustaining us.

Have a thought? I look forward to the discussions.

